Alright, this time I’m posting a new song. I don’t know much about Chris Ross, other than he’s from Maine and is quite a songwriter. And if you’re to believe his posted tourdates on his website, he almost never leaves Maine. He has a new album, his second, called Halfway To Wonderland on Mishara Music. That’s a label run by my friend Marc Ratner. Yes, for you fans of Fast Times At Ridgemont High, that’s really his name.

Chris Ross Official Website
Chris Ross on Facebook

They say the first love is the worst kind
It never lasts and it never dies
I swore I wouldn’t let her go
But I lied

That kind of pain will change a man quick
That kind of hurt’s downright divine
I swore I wouldn’t fall in love again
But I lied

She was younger than the others
She made me feel alive
I swore I’d never let her go
But I lied

It’s the coming of the glory of the saying of goodbye
It’s the last word on the last page of the story of my life
If you listen closely you can hear the echoes bouncing off the stars
From the coming of the glory
Of the breaking of my heart

Since then I’ve done things I ain’t proud of
Been the other man and the alibi
I swore I’d never go that far
But I lied

I’ve sought comfort in another
While my lover waited through the night
I swore I’d never let her down
But I lied

It’s the coming of the glory of the saying of goodye
It’s the last word of the last page of the story of my life
If you listen closely you can hear her tears falling to the floor
From the coming of the glory
Of the slamming of the door

Tonight I saw you in the bar room
A midnight angel in the lights
I swore I wouldn’t fall in love here
But I lied

All at once it was so simple
Forgiveness comes to all in time
I swore I’d never know its grace
But I lied

It’s the coming of the glory of the saying of hello
It’s the first word on the first page of the story of my life
If you listen closely you can hear me trying to ask you for your name
It’s the coming of the glory
Of the fire and the flame

Leave a comment