I’m over 25 years into my radio or music business “career” and I’ve been asked many times over the years – even by folks who got into the business at the same time as I did – “How do you still do it? How can you still go out to as many shows or listen to as many records as you do?” The short answer is, I’m not married and I have no kids. The real answer is that I still love, and I mean love the thrill of the hunt. The thrill of the discovery and then the thrill of turning someone else on to it. It’s the same reason I walked into my college radio station at Hofstra University as a freshman in 1984. Hell, it’s the same reason I made mixtapes for my friends in high school. It’s the reason I still do this. The thrill of finding a band or a songwriter or a record that I didn’t know existed one day and then, for whetever reason, I listen to an album or see a show and I’m once again knocked out by someone the same way I was the first time I heard The Clash or Elvis Costello or Joe Jackson or Ian Hunter or a thousand others that I’ve fallen in love with since I started actively listening to records when I was 10 years old.

Noah-Gundersen-Banner

As I sit here listening to a new album “for work” by someone I’d never heard of before, it’s happened again. I know next to nothing about Noah Gundersen. He’s from Seattle, used to be in the bands Beneath Oceans and The Courage, and it looks like his entire family is playing on the new album Ledges, out now on Dualtone Records. And some of his songs have been used in Sons Of Anarchy. And he used to have long dreadlocks.

Noah Gundersen on Facebook

To everyone who thinks music has reached a dead end, to everyone who thinks each passing year is the new “worst year for music,” to everyone who has stopped trying to find their next favorite bands or records I say: Open up your ears, open up your mind, listen to someone you’ve never heard of, buy a record based on nothing else but the name or the cover, go to a show in a venue smaller than an arena, stop listening to Top 40 and Classic Rock radio… Don’t listen passively, actively listen to things again. Try, try, try harder at this. You loved music at some point in your life. I know it’s not easy, I know it seems overwhelming sometimes (you should see the piles of CDs on my desks at work and at home), and I know it’s basically my job to do all of that “work” for you, but I can’t do it by myself. Try it, you never know when but you just might find your new favorite band.

 
Ledges

I’ve got a lot of loose ends, I’ve done some damage,
I’ve cut the rope, so it frayed,
I’ve got a lot of good friends, keeping me distracted,
keeping my sanity safe,

Here, I stand on the edge of the ledges I’ve made,
Looking for a steady hand,
Here, I stand in the land of the rocks in the valley,
Trying to be a better man (for you),

And I drink a little too much, it makes me nervous,
I’ve got my grandfather’s blood,
And I take a little too much, without giving back,
If blessed are the meek then I’m cursed,

Here, I stand on the edge of the ledges I’ve made,
Looking for a steady hand,
Here, I stand in the land of the rocks in the valley,
Trying to be a better man (for you),

I want to learn how to love
Not just the feeling
bear all the consequences

And I want to learn how to love,
And give it all back,
And be forgiven for all I’ve done.

Here, I stand on the edge of the ledges I’ve made,
Looking for a steady hand,
Here, I stand in the land of the rocks in the valley,
Trying to be a better man (for you)

 
Poor Man’s Son

 

Dying Now

 

Cigarettes

 

A Case Of You (Joni Mitchell)

 

And here is, apparently, the whole Gundersen family

 

Leave a Reply

