Okay, well, not having my computer set up or plugged in since Hurricane Sandy has kinda put an end to the “Flashback Friday” posts. But, I’ve got the computer set up and running again!

Since I’ve made a career out of finding musical gems and playing them for people on the radio simply because they deserve to be heard, I’ve decided that I would simply post songs, some new some old, that you may not have ever come across. Or, maybe you have. A lot of them will be some of my all time favorite songs. Hopefully I’ll be able to find videos with decent audio for all of them.

Who am I kidding? Ask anyone I went to high school with… I’ve been doing it since long before I was on the radio or had a career.

First up will be this one. I played it on the radio earlier today and decided it would be the first post. You may know my old friend Miles Hunt from his band The Wonder Stuff. Over the years he has released some cracking solo albums as well. For instance, 2000’s Hairy On The Inside. It features one of my all time faves, not just from Miles or The Wonder Stuff, I mean ever.

Official Miles Hunt/The Wonder Stuff website

If I walked through you like you just walked through me
The baring of souls would be unnecessary
And if I looked at you like the ones you’d throw me
You’d file them away to hold against me

Enough is enough but it’s never too much
The life of the confessor is no open book
Enough is enough but it’s never too much
The life of the confessor is no open book
No, the life of the confessor is no…

I’d hate to find you amongst the old reliables
I’d hate to find you amongst the old reliables

It’s the mark of success that we shared more or less
Makes it harder to take as our faces turn sour
For the times that we talked and the line we don’t walk
You’re just about the fastest way to spend an hour

Enough is enough but it’s never too much
The life of the confessor is no open book
Enough is enough but it’s never too much
The life of the confessor is no open book
No, the life of the confessor is no…

I’d hate to find you amongst the old reliables
I’d hate to find you amongst the old reliables

You never let on and I can’t read your mind
You must have seen me from afar and in better times
I didn’t push it cause I knew it would come apart
I know that I blew it but admittal’s a kind of start

Enough is enough but it’s never too much
The life of this confessor is no open book
Enough is enough but it’s never too much
The life of the confessor is no open book
No, the life of the confessor is no…

I’d hate to find you amongst the old reliables
I’d hate to find you amongst the old reliables
Yeah, I’d hate to find you amongst the old reliables
Yeah, I’d hate to find you amongst the old reliables

 

Leave a Reply

